Stage 5 race report

Now that the TTT is out the way (thank god) we can get back down to some real racing. Not to say we don’t love a good time trial, they are a vital component of a stage race, it’s just that they don’t make for the best TV viewing. We would prefer to see highlight packages of Ullrich or Jalabert or even Ullrich again over watching a TTT.

Stage 5 was always going to be a cracker. A rolling parcours with the Côte des Bastides and uncategorised Col de la Gineste only 13km from the finish were always going to provide some excitement for the day.

At the start line poor Ted King, after being dropped during the first km of yesterday’s TTT lost time on his team and was classified outside of the time limit for stage 4. Despite this being only 7 seconds, King was told that, “non”, he couldn’t start the stage. C’est La Vie.

The theme of the evening was Carlton Kirby on Marseille: “Destination Marseille….not the prettiest place on the planet, let’s just leave it at that.”

In keeping with the format of this year’s Tour the break went, yes you guessed it, from the start. De Gendt initiated the movement and soon enough the UN of cycling was formed up the road with Arashiro, Reza, Sicard, Delaplace and Lutsenko joining him.

The gap increased dramatically early and soon it was sitting above 10 minutes. De Gendt stamped his authority on the break by fighting wildly for every point available for the stage, KOM or Sprint.

Back in the laughing gear poor old Bouhanni must have had a dodgy Coq au Vin the night before and was struggling with a gut ache which surely has to be the worst thing on a bike. Especially at the Tour. In a club race you just duck behind the nearest tree and bang you are done. At the Tour it would be up on Twitter in no time.

Speaking of things going directly up on twitter, here’s a fan collecting the ticket of another fan

There were a number of incidents along the way that need to be mentioned. Klodibear took a tumble after mixing handlebars with teammate Zubeldia with about 77km to go. Rest assured that we have been in contact with Bakelants who was not nervous for his friends Klodibear or Jensie, but rather concerned about the state of the bitumen and for poor delicate Zubeldia who risks the wrath of Bakelants for doing a ztooopid by making Klodibear crash.

With 50km to go, De Gendt, who obviously still had ants in his pants, began to up the pace and lost Sicard and Delaplace and hence a couple of bodies to help roll turns till the end. In the group the main sprinters teams were beginning to surge to the front with angry legs and a slow stage pace leading to optimism and hope for a win.

At 20km to go the gap was dropping fast. This seemed to motivate Reza to go at it alone which surely has to be Big Mistake number 1 in a break. OK fine if you have been carrying the break the whole way, but maybe its not a great idea to attack a bloke like De Gendt who obviously had good legs.

This only saw the gap drop even faster and even a crash in the group couldn’t stop the slow death of the break appearing before our eyes. But Lutsenko didn’t think so and with 12km to go he attacked and Reza bridged across with some ease.

Once the group hit the top of the climb Quickstep were all over the front with Chavanel driving the pace LIKE A BOSS. And wasn’t it a beautiful descent into Marseilles. Carlton Kirby on Marseille: “Like Birmingham only hotter”.

With 4km to go it was all back together and for really the first time this Tour we had a bonafide full out drag race for the finish. Quickstep, Cannondale and Lotto all spent time at the front (and Euskatel for some reason…) but when it mattered, 400m from the finish, big Geerty Steegmans just opened up the throttle with Cavendish on his wheel. They quickly got a gap on Higgs Boasson Hagen and then it was basically good night nurse. Greipel had been sniffing around CERN’s wheel and Sagan had opened it up wide. Both had no chance once Cavendish lit the afterburners.

Of course a group kick in the first week of the Tour wouldn’t be complete without a massive crash in the final 3km. Once the stage was over there were people piled up near the final turn. It seems all is good at the time of reporting though poor old Rolland had come down again after crashing with 20 odd km to go as well.


Stage 5 tipping results

In the default pool, 28 people tipped Cav for the win: Josiah Ng, Chris Neal, Michael Jones, Jamie Jowett, Matthew Clarkson, Robbie Russell, Paul W, Nick Flynn, Gaffer Pom, Ashley Bloodworth, Jérémy Pen, Brian Barringer, Laurence Basell, David McLeod, Adam Rowland, Michael Candiloro, Brett Manning, Alex Hersey, Adam Levin, Seda Camgoz Posselt, Tom Galbraith, Darren Nichol, Ian Johnson, Kristian Cook, Alistair Brown, Tom Barry, Tom Nisbet and Tony Byrne.

Staying in the default pool, there are now only 8 leaders: Andrew Irwin, David McLeod, Cameron Fowle, Matt Settle, Phil Aarons, Nick Silcox, Angus Thomson and Derek Collins. With 1006 participants in the pool, these eight represent the best of the best.

At the other end, Ben Weereratne has dropped something like 35 minutes! Impressive.

Jérémy Pen has collected an unbelievable 150 points in the sprint comp, putting him 5 clear of Nick Anskey.

In the KOM, Gary Cameron, David Chessor and Simon McMillan are all on 6 points, 1 clear of the rest of the riff-raff.

And we’ll leave you with Carlton Kirby on Marseille: “It has its own haze.”


General Classification tipping ladder top 50 after stage 5

Position Name Time Sprint KOM
1 Derek Collins  18:19:15 74 0
2 David McLeod  18:19:15 82 0
3 Andrew Irwin  18:19:15 73 0
4 Cameron Fowle  18:19:15 8 1
5 Matt Settle  18:19:15 73 0
6 phil aarons  18:19:15 41 0
7 Nick Silcox  18:19:15 8 0
8 Angus Thomson  18:19:15 63 0
9 James Dunn  18:19:16 74 0
10 Stephen Parker  18:19:16 61 0
11 Alistair George  18:19:16 72 0
12 Dane Cash  18:19:16 79 0
13 Damien Pryzbxylzirski  18:19:16 36 1
14 Callum Pearce  18:19:16 8 1
15 Ashley Bleeker  18:19:16 110 0
16 Angus Crisp  18:19:16 95 0
17 Keith Wong  18:19:16 18 0
18 Martin Tran  18:19:16 46 5
19 Simon Harders  18:19:16 25 0
20 Borja Barbesà  18:19:16 61 0
21 Michael Buss  18:19:16 46 0
22 Gavin Schulze  18:19:16 61 0
23 Nikolaos Taiganidis  18:19:16 78 0
24 Gregor Vrankar  18:19:16 79 0
25 Tim Dlugosz  18:19:16 43 0
26 Louis Raymond  18:19:16 61 0
27 David Broemeling  18:19:16 79 0
28 Jules Knuppel  18:19:16 92 0
29 Marcus Cairney  18:19:16 110 0
30 Brian Barringer  18:19:16 86 0
31 Derek Hennessy  18:19:16 83 5
32 Paul Ruskin  18:19:16 86 0
33 Ched L  18:19:16 44 0
34 Jamie Swinnerton  18:19:16 38 1
35 Dustin Clare  18:19:16 57 0
36 Blair Coull  18:19:16 51 0
37 Peyton Greenwald  18:19:16 46 0
38 Luke Grainger  18:19:16 37 0
39 Mathew Sorrenson  18:19:16 90 0
40 Duncan Hallihan  18:19:16 48 0
41 Matt Vicars  18:19:16 8 1
42 Adam Lord  18:19:16 8 1
43 Ron Klajnblat  18:19:16 76 0
44 Liam Neal  18:19:18 40 0
45 Chris Aarons  18:19:18 44 0
46 Wil Beaumes  18:19:18 10 1
47 Paul Le Fevre  18:19:18 40 0
48 David Doyle  18:19:18 8 1
49 Lester Perry  18:19:18 44 0
50 Aidan Moore  18:19:18 14 1

To view the full CyclingTips competition ladder, click here